Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para mejorar la experiencia de navegación y ofrecer contenidos y servicios de interés.
Al continuar con la navegación, entendemos que se acepta nuestra política de cookies.

Juno and Grace is Gone are included in the Official Section of the 45th International Film Festival of Gijón


(Votes count 459)

(Rating average 2,96)

The film opening the festival is The Darjeeling Limited by Wes Anderson and Marisa Paredes will be awarded the Nacho Martínez Prize during the closing gala.
The film Juno by Jason Reitman, winner of the People's Choice Award in Toronto and Best Feature in the Festival of Rome, script by Diablo Cody and Grace is Gone by James C. Strouse, awarded in Sundance and starred by John Cusack as protagonist are included in the Official Section of the 45th International Film Festival of Gijón that is going to be held from the 22nd November to 1st December.

The Darjeeling Limited by Wes Anderson is the opening film. 22 films will be premiered in the Official Section, eighteen out of which will enter the competition.

Among the 16 shorts are Alumbramiento by Eduardo Chapero Jackson awarded Best European Short in Venice and Darío y Verónica by the Asturian director Alberto Rodríguez, winner of the New Producers Prize 2006. The opening ceremony will be presented by Javier Veiga; during the opening ceremony, there will be a performance by James Taylor Quartet.

On the other hand, the members of the International Jury will be Mychael Danna, the composer of the films by Atom Egoyan and Little Miss Sunshine and Capote just to mention some; the directors Hal Hartley (whose last film Fay Grim will be premiered in Gijón), the Argentinian Martín Rejtman (Copacabana) and Roser Aguilar (who presented her feature Lo major de mi in la Seminci and Locarno), together with the actress Verónica Sánchez (Trece Rosas, El Canlentito, Al Sur de Granada, Los Serrano).

For the third year in a row, there will also be a Fipresci Jury (a Jury from the International Federation of the Film Critics). The members of this Jury are: Dennis West, Nil Baskar and Violeta Kovacsics. As regards the Nacho Martínez Prize which was created in memory of the deceased Asturian actor Nacho Martínez and who has been given in former editions to Asumpta Serna, Eusebio Poncela or Maribel Verdú, this year, the prize is given to Marisa Paredes who will receive it during the closing ceremony.


Jason Reitman (USA, 2007, 96 min)

The last film by Jason Reitman, director of Gracias por fumar, is a comedy (sour, romantic and black) which won him the People's Choice Award in Toronto and the Best Feature in Rome. Juno Macguff, a girl aged 16 is pregnant and refuses to have an abortion so she looks for an appropriate partner for her baby. Ellen Page (Hard Candy), Michael Cera (Superbad), J. K. Simons (The Closer) and Jennifer Garner (Alias) make up the cast. Diablo Cody will also be present at the Festival. It was given an award to the script in Hollywood Film Festival. This ex-stripper who usually takes part in the show by David Letterman has just been "been signed" by Steven Spielberg for "The United States of Tara".

Grace is Gone

James C. Strouse, USA, 2006, 92 min.

This film was given the Audience Award and the Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award at Sundance. It is starred by John Cusack and its soundtrack is by Clint Eastwood. It is a road movie about a father who decides to travel with his daughters to a far-off funfair. The reason for the trip is to find the correct moment to tell the girls their mother has died during the War in Irak.

Marisa Paredes

After having worked for 30 years in the Spanish cinema, Marisa Paredes started a remarkable international career in 1990. She has played the female leading role in countries such as France, Italy, Argentina and Mexico. She was the President of the Academia del Cine Español between 2000 and 2003. A number of national and international awards back her brilliant professional career. Among those, she was given the National Film Award in 1996, the same year, she was awarded Commander of the Arts and Literature and she is appointed Best Actress for her work in La flor de mi secreto by the Association of Hispanic Journalists in New York. Some of her most outstanding works are

Las salvajes en Puente San Gil (Antonio Rivas, 1966), El perro (Antonio Isasi-Isasmendi, 1977), Entre tinieblas (Pedro Almodóvar, 1983 ), Las bicicletas son para el verano (Jaime Chavarri, 1984), Tras el cristal ( Agustí Villalonga, 1986 ), Tacones lejanos (Pedro Almodóvar, 1991), Tres vidas y una sola muerte (Raul Ruiz, 1995), La flor de mi secreto ( Pedro Almodóvar, 1995), Profundo carmesí (Arturo Ripstein, 1996) La vida es bella (Roberto Benigni, 1998) El coronel no tiene quien la escriba (Arturo Ripstein, 1999), Todo sobre mi madre (Pedro Almodóvar, 1999 ), El espinazo del diablo (Guillermo del Toro, 2000) or Espejo mágico (Manuel Oliveira, 2005). Both Nacho Martínez and Marisa Paredes starred "Tacones Lejanos"81991) and the TV series "El olivar de Atocha".

Javier Veiga

He is commonly acknowledged by his work as the presenter of the Club de la Comedia in Canal+, he studied Drama in the Real Escuela Superior and he also studied half of the subjects to become an Architect. He has played roles in films such as La mujer más fea del mundo, El año de la garrapata or Escuela de seducción. He has also played roles in TV series such as Siete vidas or Moncloa ¿dígame? His roles on the stage are a tour around the classics: Zorrilla, Ruíz de Alarcón, Fernando de Rojas, Moliere, Peter Handke, Cervantes, Gogol, Chejov or Bertold Brecht. His short ¡Sálvame!(2007) is being successfully shown in the circuit of Spanish festivals (Medina del Campo, Benicasim...).